Hip Hop

The Physics – High Society (FreEP)

blame it on Shake July 1, 2009

Thig sent this to me last week, but I wasn’t sure it was allowed to be posted. *slaps forehead…

Two years after the release of their critically lauded full length debut, Future Talk, Seattle-based hip hop group The Physics are back with June 2009’s release of High Society, an eight track EP of new material representing a natural progression both musically and personally. Steeped heavily in references to jazz and soul, Just D’Amato’s production (alongside Phee Dill & Dyalect) provides the smoothed-out backdrop against which lyricists Thig Natural and Monk Wordsmith (absent from Future Talk but a notable presence here) do their thing and do it with skill. Featuring guest appearances by beastly Seattle MCs Language Arts (Back Track) and Macklemore (Good) as well as one of the year’s most buzzed about local duos, the fresh-as-all-hell females of Thee Satisfaction (Radio Head), High Society dims the lights on the laidback aesthetic established in Future Talk and invites the listener to get real grown—and enjoy it. While this EP may feel like a main course, don’t get it twisted: it’s merely just a taste of what’s to come, a prelude to an additional as-yet-untitled release slated for later in the summer.

Tracklist + Download link after the jump…

01 Hustle Man Intro
02 High Society
03 Callin
04 Back Track
05 I Just Wanna Beat
06 The Session
07 Good
08 Radio Head

Artwork by: Black Marmalade.

DOWNLOAD: The Physics – High Society EP