Hip Hop

Lyriciss – The Practice (Mixtape)

blame it on Meka January 26, 2010

As far as hip-hop goes the DMV (DC/Maryland/Virginia) is still unmarked territory. Sure, there’s success in the frontrunner (Wale), not to mention a bright future for others (Tabi Bonney, Phil Adé), but there are many more voices from hip-hop’s unheard region. One of them is EQuinox Professionals/Inner Loop Records artist Lyriciss.

The Practice is Lyriciss’s fourth official mixtape, the follow-up to last year’s The Day Job. While the latter had strength in concepts and experimentation in flow, the focal point of The Practice lies within the lyrics.

Former XM Radio show host and DMV-area native DJ Furious Styles handles the mixing and guest contributions include Fashawn, K-Beta, Kingpen Slim, Muggsy Malone, RAtheMC, Theo Martins.

Tracklist and link down bottom.


1. The Practice [prod. Jab The Future]
2. The Future
3. Give ‘Em A Show [prod. Jab The Future & Lord Vada]
4. Like Me (f./Theo Martins)
5. Microphone (f./Pro’Verb, ChRis BaRz, & KT)
6. Hustler (f./Kingpen Slim, Laelo Hood, & Rayz) [prod. Lord Vada of EQuinox Professionals]
7. QuESt Drop
8. Still Doing My Job [prod. Sheezy Beatz]
9. It Ain’t Hard To Tell ’09 [prod. Lord Vada of EQuinox Professionals]
10. Bright Nights [prod. E-Minah aka Grussle]
11. What You Thought [prod. Soulful!]
12. New Day (f./RAtheMC) [prod. Rich Craft]
13. You Wrong (f./Cayan) [prod. Ben Pramuk]
14. Cross Country Connect (f./Fashawn) {SNIPPET} [prod. Mark Henry]
15. Fashawn Drop/They Told Me [prod. G-Way]
16. Successful
17. Shawn Chrystopher Drop
18. Blinded [prod. G-Way]
19. Hard Times (f./K-Beta & Muggsy Malone) [prod. Lord Vada of EQuinox Professionals]
20. We Got It [prod. David E. Beats]
21. Thank You [prod. E-Minah aka Grussle]

DOWNLOAD: Lyriciss – The Practice (Mixtape)