John Legend & The Roots – Wake Up! (Tracklist)

blame it on Shake July 12, 2010

I seriously can’t wait for this album!

John Legend and The Roots deliver a Wake Up! call to listeners with their soulful collaborative effort. The 11-track album, due September 21, contains covers of songs from the ’60s and ’70s, including Marvin Gaye’s “Wholy Holy,” Donny Hathaway’s “Little Ghetto Boy,” and the Common and Melanie Fiona-assisted first single “Wake Up Everybody.” The inspiring collection also features one original composition called “Shine,” which serves as the theme for the documentary Waiting for Superman.

“These songs sound so relevant now,” stated Legend. “On most of them, you wouldn’t change a lyric. ‘Wake Up Everybody’ has four verses—the first one is a general statement, the second is about education, third is about health care, and the fourth is about making a better environment. No editing needed.”

01 Compared to What
02 Hard Times
03 Little Ghetto Boy
04 Wake Up Everybody f. Common and Melanie Fiona
05 Our Generation
06 Love the Way It Should Be
07 Hang On in There
08 I Can’t Write Left Handed
09 Wholy Holy
10 I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free
11 Shine

Shouts to Rap-Up on the info.