Skyzoo & !llmind – Live From the Tape Deck (Artwork x Tracklist)

blame it on Shake August 17, 2010

Hitting shelves/online October 25th.

‘Live From The Tape Deck’ is the perfect follow-up record for Skyzoo fans who are anxious for new material. Skyzoo says his goal while recording the album was ” to make something that felt like a 2010 cassette tape. I wanted the content to be raw and lyric driven as always, but not as story driven or emotional as ‘The Salvation’ was. There are still parts of the album that are stories and concepts, but not as much as my debut had. This one was more of a beats and rhymes type of album.”

!llmind took a custom approach to the production for the album based on the concept of “Live From The Tape Deck,” explaining that he “wanted to keep the soundscape warm and ‘analog’ sounding, just like how 2 inch tapes used to sound. Most of the keyboard and synth sounds I used were from analog synths made in the late 80’s. Combined this with using my ASR-10, I was able to capture that feeling, but with a slightly updated feel. I think our debut record, ‘Frisbees’ was a cool way, sonically, to introduce the sound I was going for.”

01 Digital Analog
02 Frisbees
03 The Burn Notice f. Heltah Skeltah (Sean Price x Rock)
04 Speakers On Blast
05 #Allabouthat
06 Barrel Brothers f Torae
07 The Winner’s Circle
08 Krylon
09 Kitchen Table
10 The Now Or Never f. Styles P & Buckshot
11 Understanding Riley f. Rhymefest
12 Langston’s Pen

Skyzoo & !llmind secured features from artists that matched the ‘Live From The Tape Deck’ concept. Skyzoo goes further saying, “I went to who I felt made sense for the records I put them on. For instance, when fans hear the track, “the burn notice”, they’ll agree that the beat, being chaotic and loud, had Heltah Skeltah written all over it.”

PREVIOUS: Skyzoo, Torae & [email protected]!n$ – The Incredible (prod. Illmind)
Off A (2)Dope Mixtape: Empire State Edition.