Doomtree x Gayngs – Affiliyated (Regrind EP)

blame it on Shake March 4, 2011

The production side of the Doomtree collective get together to “regrind” tracks off the Minneapolis smooth rock collective’s debut album, Relayted.

To create the Gayngs’ Regrind EP all of the stems from the bands debut album, Relayted, were arbitrarily named and compiled into a list … [A] collection of producers and musicians … were then instructed to choose only 10, without knowing what songs they came from or what instruments they contained. One could choose anything from four sax solos and six bass lines, to eight keyboards and two background vocals. The combinations that could be chosen were indefinite…the only certainty was that the parts would all be set to the tempo of 69 beats per minute.

From there, the re-grinders were free to chop, pitch-shift, and otherwise pulverize the stems into a new, cohesive song. The only rule was that they must use all 10 stems they were given, and that the tempo must remain at GAYNGS’ standard 69 bpm.

Tracklist + Download link after the jump…

01 Fight, Fuck, Fall Asleep (Sims: vox Cecil Otter: regrind)
02 Coercion Van (MK Larada: regrind)
03 Cologne & Water (Paper Tiger: regrind)
04 Draper Drunk (Mike Mictlan: vox, The Chocolate Ox: keys, Plain ole Bill: regrind)
05 No Scrubs (P.O.S: vox, regrind)
06 Sprinkle Juice (Lazerbeak: regrind)
07 Sand In The Lotion (Cecil Otter: regrind)

DOWNLOAD: Doomtree x Gayngs – Affiliyated (Regrind EP) [via]