The Away Team – Scars & Stripes (Artwork x Tracklist)

blame it on Meka August 18, 2011

Sean Boog and Khrysis’ upcoming project, coming October 11th, is going to be a feature-heavy opus featuring the likes of God, Jesus and Jay-Z Evidence, Talib Kweli, Phonte, Actual Proof, Rapsody and more. Check it out after the jump.

The cover of the album depicts a photo from the 1965 Watts Riot, a large-scale riot which lasted 6 days in the Watts neighborhood of Los Angeles, CA.

The Away Team feel that “during the Watts riots of 1965, racial tension was at an all-time high, due to Desegregation and Police Brutality. The riots were a direct reflection of an angered society. This, however, placed a “Scar” on American history. The riots, although violent and fatal, was a necessary turn of events in order to get where we are as a society today. We observe those monumental events in our country’s history and relate them to hip hop and the changes it has made worldwide. Through our music, we use our own “scars” we’ve endured as a group, and as individuals, to show our growth and transformation, and how we’ve earned our “Stripes”.

Enter Sean Boog and Khrysis. Enter The Away Team. Enter Scars & Stripes.

1. Intro
2. Bad News f. King Mez & Blue Raspberry
3. Scars & Stripes
4. 4 The People
5. Cheers f. Heather Victoria
6. What Is This f. Evidence
7. The Road To Redemption
8. Drift
9. Set It Off f. Talib Kweli & Rapsody
10. Happenin’ Today
11. Hot Potato f. Halo & Sundown (of Actual Proof)
12. I Ain’t Mad f. Jay Rush)
13. Paid f. Laws & Big Remo
14. Proceed f. Enigma (of Actual Proof)
15. Get Down f. GQ
16. Picture This f. Kelsy Lu
17. See U Later f. Phonte