2Dope PremiereAlbums

Stream Canibus’ New ‘Fait Accompli’ LP

blame it on Shake June 10, 2014

Since Can-I-Bus dropped in 1998, Canibus has seen his share of ups and downs in the rap game. Still, through it all the rapper with one of the largest vocabularies in hip hop has continued to write, record and release music at a consistent basis. Sixteen years after his debut, Rip the Jacker presses on and has released his 15th studio LP Fait Accompli via RBC Records.

Already having posted a few singles-including the “Historic” HRSMN reunion track with Kurupt, Ras Kass, Killah Priest and Tragedy Khadafi-the DopeHouse is proud to premiere the full album stream. Press release, tracklist and audio available below.

Fait Accompli is French for “Accomplished Fact,” an expression that is spoken to describe a process that is too late to change. A bold and appropriate description of Bis’ presence in the Hip-Hop world and of the album’s 17-track looking glass perspective of the contemporaneous world.

“It’s too late to change.” The album is focused on a reverse image of the Western world’s economic and social paradigm which stands boldly in stark contrast to the mainstream narrative. It depicts an impersonal and detached illustration of a dangerous end game of economic and social hazard through dystopian and prophetic imagery, but this time with a hint of indifference to the listener’s interpretation. Heavily reinforced by guest speakers, but far from lacking in substance and depth, Canibus paints his tracks with recordings of impassioned and almost crazed narratives warning of an impending cataclysm. Bis’ trademark lyricism almost seems to contrast and yet not discount these borrowed perspectives, as though he’s grown from a boy in his freshman albums, to a man, and now to a man of renown. It’s a curious and unique cocktail, possibly intended to allow an interpretation of his music to resonate differently for each listener’s own social perspective.

The phrase Fait Accompli seems to resemble the title of a chapter, the tale of the end of modern history as we know it, or at least the 11th hour of it, and told from a perspective that is not his own. If it is too late to change history, then Fait Accompli is an invitation to observe rather than resist. As only Canibus can, the title also aligns symbolically on multiple levels personally with the artist, as this is Canibus’ own 11th hour release; his final project, Rip the Jacker: Infinity is drawing near.

01 Star Spangled Banger (Intro)
02 Fait Accompli
03 Yellow Line
04 Pay Me In Gold
05 This Ain’t The Movies
06 The Primary Axiom
07 Orange Line
08 Dyson’s Fear of Spheres
09 The Principle of Equivalence
10 The Rude Boy Oscars
11 Sinflation
12 Red Line
13 The Last Christians
14 God$Les$ America
15 Historic f. 4HRSMN & Tragedy Khadafi
16 The Future
17 Star Spangled Banger (Outro)
18 Wreck Room f. Crooked I, Flawless The MC & Nino Graye
19 Explanations & Misinflations [Bonus Track]
20 Make A Sound [Bonus Track]
21 Dutty Desparados [Bonus Track]
22 Robot Makers [Bonus Track]
23 Pay Me In Gold f. Pyrit [Bonus Track]

PURCHASE: Canibus – Fait Accompli [iTunes]