Souls of Mischief – There Is Only Now (Artwork x Tracklist)

blame it on JES7 June 21, 2014

It’s been almost six years since A-Plus, Phesto, Opio and Tajai, more commonly known as Souls of Mischief, released their last LP, Montezuma’s Revenge. Since then, they’ve been dropping random joints like a remix to Adrian Younge & The Deflonics’ “Stop & Look,” “Controlled Riots” with Oh No and much more.

And recently, SPIN announced some news that SOM fans will enjoy: a new album titled There Is Only Now. The sixth studio album from the Oakland conglomerate will feature production from Adrian Younge (who is known to be a huge fan of the group). According to SPIN:

The cinematically blessed 19 tracks are narrated by A Tribe Called Quest member Ali Shaheed Muhammed, who plays the DJ for fictional Oakland radio station K-NOW and unfolds the story through his all-seeing eye. Further features give a deeper sense of what we can expect from the story: Busta Rhymes makes an appearance as the villain, Womack; William Hart of the Delfonics lends his falsetto to “Another Side of You”; Snoop Dogg is tagged for the title track; and Scarub from Living Legends gets into the mix on “Stone Cold.”

What’s more, Souls’ entire sixth LP was evidently recorded without the use of computers. All four members and Younge worked in an Los Angeles studio for months laying tracks down on 2-inch analogue tape with each song recorded in a single take. All instruments were played by Younge or session musicians without drum-sampling or drum machines.

The new album is due out August 26 on Linear Records and will be released on CD, cassette tape, limited edition vinyl, and standard vinyl. Peace to MissInfo on the heads up.

01. K-NOW Intro
02. Time Stopped 2:20
03. Womack’s Lament f. Busta Rhymes
04. Panic Struck
05. K-NOW Interlude 1
06. Another Part of You f. William Hart
07. All You Got Is Your Word
08. There Is Only Now f. Snoop Dogg
09. Meet Womack
10. K-NOW Interlude 2
11. Miriam Got a Mickey
12. Stone Cold f. Scarub
13. The Synopsis
14. Ghetto Superhero
15. K-NOW Reprise
16. Narrow Escape
17. Finally Back
18. The Last Act
19. K-NOW Outro

PREVIOUS: Souls Of Mischief Release 20th Anniversary ’93 ’til Infinity’ Box Set