DJ Quik Announces New Album; Drops New Single With Son David Blake, “That Getter”

blame it on Meka September 17, 2014

Before he takes the stage as the headlining act at MURS’ 3:16 stage at this weekend’s Sunset Strip Music Festival, DJ Quik announces a new album (which is great news, considering that a while ago I read that he was threatening to hang it all up). On October 14th, the West Coast pioneer will drop The Midnight Life, which will feature the likes of El DeBarge, Suga Free, Dom Kennedy, Mack 10, and others.

For the album’s lead single, Quik teams up with his son David Blake on “That Getter”. Check the song, and tracklist, below.

1 Intro
2 That N****r’s Crazy (D. Blake)
3 Back That Shit Up f. Tay F 3rd & David Blake II (D. Blake, D. Kim, D. Blake II)
4 Trapped On The Tracks f. Bishop Lamont & David Blake II (D. Blake, P. Martin, D. Blake II)
5 El’s Interlude 2 (D. Blake, E. Debarge)
6 Puffin The Dragon (D. Blake)
7 Pet Sematary (D. Blake)
8 Life Jacket f. Suga Free & Dom Kennedy (D. Blake, D. Walker, D. Hunn)
9 That Getter f. David Blake (D. Blake, D. Blake II)
10 The Conduct f. Mack 10 (D. Blake, D. Rolison)
11 Shine f. David Blake (D. Blake, D. Blake II)
12 Bacon’s Groove f. Rob “Fonksta” Bacon (D. Blake, R. Bacon, Jr.)
13 Broken Down f. Suga Free & Tweed Cadillac (D. Blake, D. Walker, C. Brown)
14 Why’d You Have To Lie f. Joi (D. Blake, J. Gilliam)
15 F**k All Night (D. Blake)
16 Quik’s Groove 9 (D. Blake)

I’m going to need track 8 to come out, stat.

PREVIOUS: Bishop Lamont – B-I-T-C-H f. DJ Quik & David Blake Jr