Mayer Hawthorne & Jake One Are Tuxedo; Announce Debut Album For 2015 Release

blame it on Shake December 1, 2014

Although the mystery wasn’t too difficult to solve, Mayer Hawthorne and Jake One have officially revealed themselves as funk duo Tuxedo.

Following a 2dope EP and most recently a video for “Do It,” the duo are finally ready to unleash a full length. Teaming up with Stones Throw, the singer/producer combo will release their self-titled debut on March 3, 2015.

The Tuxedo collaboration began with an exchange of mixtapes back in 2006. The fruits of a long-standing kinship were three tracks that mysteriously showed up on Internet doorsteps nearly two years ago. In between personal projects, these three tracks became a full album’s worth of Tuxedo. The album was mixed by original disco don dada John Morales at his home studio in South Plainfield, New Jersey. “I flew out there,” Mayer says. “His wife made me spaghetti and everything.”

The official artwork and tracklist can be seen below.


01 Lost Lover
02 R U Ready
03 Watch the Dance
04 So Good
05 Two Wrongs
06 Tuxedo Groove
07 I Got U
08 The Right Time
09 Roll Along
10 Get U Home
11 Do It
12 Number One

RELATED: Jake One – Seaplane (Beat Tape)