DMX Is Dropping A New Album Next Week

blame it on Meka January 6, 2015

So guess who’s kicking off the new year with a surprise album? Fresh from making a hilarious appearance in Chris Rock’s latest film Top Five, the slingshot enthusiast will drop a new album seven days from now (January 13th) titled Redemption Of The Beast. Outside of the tracklist (featuring the likes of Freeway and former Flipmode Squad member Rampage) not much else is available at the moment, so fans for the time being will just have to wait until next week to check it out.

UPDATE (1/7): Turns out this is an unauthorized release and DMX had no clue until the news broke. His publicist had the following to offer:

“I spoke to DMX today and he was unaware of the upcoming announcement of the “Redemption Of The Beast” album. When I read him the projected track list of songs to be released X said, ‘that’s all stolen music’. DMX and myself are highly disappointed that trust was broken and that these songs may be released and sold without X’s knowledge or consent. DMX and Swizz Beatz are working on an album together and fans should look to their official social media accounts for accurate information.”

Wamp Wamp.

1. Spit That Shit
2. Built Like A Bitch
3. On And On
4. Get Up And Try Again
5. Solid f. Rampage
6. I’m Gonna Win
7. It’s A Problem
8. It’s Goin’ Down
9. Shout It
10. One More Night
11. 56 Bars
12. Where You Been f. Freeway
13. Right Or Wrong f. Jannyce
14. Gonna Get Mine
15. We Gonna Make It
16. Love That Bitch f. Jannyce

Is it ironic or coincidental that tracks 4, 8, and 15 are at least partially named after songs that already exist? And would it also be too much to ask for those OG Murder Inc. songs instead?

PREVIOUS: 2Deep: DMX – Fame x The Professional [’99]