Rapper Big Pooh & Apollo Brown Announce ‘Words Paint Pictures’ LP; Drop First Single

blame it on Shake February 3, 2015

Rapper Big Pooh and Detroit producer Apollo Brown have announced they will collaborate on a new EP, appropriately titled Words Paint Pictures.

Dropping March 24th via Mello Music Group, the project is set to feature the likes of Ras Kass, Blakk Soul, Marv Won, L’Orange, ForeverFC’s Lute and more.

Today, the duo liberate the EP’s lead single, “Stop,” a powerful track that speaks on police profiling and the hardships of growing up black in America. Speaking with XXL, Pooh had the following to say:

“The crazy thing is, of course, a lot of the stuff that’s going on—Jordan Davis, Trayvon Martin, Mike Brown—all this stuff has been going on. But I was sitting in the crib—it’s one of the last records I did for the EP—and I was watching the news, and there was a story from down in Columbia, South Carolina, which is like an hour and a half away from me. And this kid had just gotten off work and he got pulled over at a gas station. And when he got pulled over at the gas station he got out of the car and the cop said, ‘I want to see your license.’ It was in the car, so [the kid] went to reach for it in the car and the cop fired off one. He didn’t kill him but he injured him, he shot him in the leg. And right after that I went out, I went driving around and I got pulled over that night. And that was going through my mind the other time: All these black youth getting killed by police officers, and I get pulled over the night after I watched a man get shot at the gas station. So that was like the longest, quickest police stop I’ve ever had in my life.

Two days later when I got home I was like, ‘I gotta write about this.’ You know, as a black man, it used to be the joke that you always tense up when a cop get behind you while you’re driving, but now it’s real, you know what I’m sayin’? That’s real now. So I definitely wanted to document it in some shape or form.

01 “Augmentation”
02 “Stop” f. Steve Roxx
03 “Eyes Wide Open” f. Ras Kass
04 “Promise Land”
05 “How I Move” f. Blakk Soul
06 “Candlelight” f. Marv Won
07 “Kings” f. Jalen Santoy, Novej & Lute
08 “Augmentation” (L’Orange Remix)
09 “Promise Land” (Apollo Brown Remix)

RELATED: Rapper Big Pooh & Blakk Soul- Holiday