Blackalicious – “On Fire Tonight”

blame it on Shake April 23, 2015

It’s been ten years since Blackalicious unleashed their last album, 2005’s The Craft. And if you ask us, it’s been a decade too long.

Thankfully for us rap heads, super lyricist Gift of Gab and producer Chief Xcel have returned! With their first album in a decade, Imani Vol. 1, set for an August 14th release, the indie legends let off the first single, “On Fire Tonight” – featuring Myron of Myron & E.

“Imani Vol. 1 is our fourth album and marks another milestone in our career,” Chief Xcel tells Rolling Stone. “Each album we do together tends to be a journey within itself that represents a very specific chapter of our lives. From Bosko’s timeless talk box to Zap Mama’s vocal brilliance, the ensemble of musicians, MCs, and vocalists involved in making Imani Vol. 1 all brought something very unique to the project that helped us grow and continue to expand the sound of Blackalicious.”

01 “Faith” (ft. Amde of The Watts Prophets)
02 “Blacka”
03 “Ashes to Ashes”
04 “On Fire Tonight” (ft. Myron of Myron & E)
05 “Escape”
06 “The Sun” (ft. Imani Coppola)
07 “That Night” (ft. Vursatyl and Jumbo of The LifeSavas)
08 “Inspired By” (ft. Bosko)
09 “We Did It Again” (ft. Danielle Flax)
10 “I Like The Way You Talk”
11 “Twist of Time”
12 “The Blow Up”
13 “Loves Gonna Save the Day” (ft. Fantastic Negrito)
14 “Alpha and Omega” (ft. Lateef, Lyrics Born, Monophonics, & DJ D Sharp)
15 “The Hour Glass”
16 “Imani” (ft. Zap Mama)