MICK Takes Leon Bridges’ ‘Coming Home’ Debut Through Texas

blame it on Shake September 2, 2015

First off, if you don’t have Leon Bridges’ Coming Home LP, you need to stop what you’re doing and cop immediately – the Fort Worth native’s debut is absolutely incredible.


Alright, now that you’re caught up, let’s get to business. Brooklyn DJ and longtime friend of the DopeHouse MICK has just released his new project, Coming Home To Texas – an excellent re-imagining of Bridges’ critically-acclaimed debut that takes listeners on an electrifying journey through the south. Blending the various aspects and sonics of Texas-based Hip-Hop with Bridges’ soulful vocals, MICK – along with producers Chi Duly, Hasan Insane, Donnie Houstin, Jett I. Masatyr, Chris Rockaway, and TedyP – crafted seven new tracks, enlisting Bun B and Slim Thug to contribute verses.

“Leon Bridges is, to me, the most talented new artist in music,” says MICK. “I’ve heard so many comparisons: The next Sam Cooke, the next this, the next that. However, I couldn’t help but wonder how a kid in his 20’s would sound if his inspiration was threaded through the classic Texas hip hop he grew up on. This project answers that. I combined Leon’s soulful vocals with the samples and vibes of my favorite Texas hip-hop artists, including DJ Screw, UGK, and Scarface. The result turned out even better than I thought. I’m so excited for people to finally hear it.”

Stream/download Coming Home To Texas below.

1 Coming Home (prod. Chi Duly)
2 Better Man f. Bun B (prod. Chi Duly)
3 Brown Skin Girl f. Slim Thug (prod. Hasan Insane)
4 Smooth Sailin (prod. Donnie Houstin and Chris Rockaway)
5 Shine (prod. Jett I. Masatyr + Chris Rockaway)
6 Flowers (prod. Donnie Houstin and TedyP)
7 River (prod. Hasan Insane)

[audiomack src=””]