Big Boi & Phantogram Release ‘Big Grams’ EP!

blame it on Shake September 25, 2015

Big Boi and Phantogram have released their Big Grams EP!

I don’t know about y’all, but I’ve been practically begging for this to go down ever since I first heard the pairing on Big Boi’s Vicious Lies & Dangerous Rumors – three years ago! The chemistry heard on “Objectum Sexuality, “CPU,” and “Lines” was simply too good to ignore and, thankfully, I wasn’t the only one who thought that, as both parties kept in contact and continued to work together.

The announcement of a joint project arrived earlier this month, and after two looong weeks of waiting, Big Grams has officially arrived. More than just a collection of songs, the seven-track EP provides a new outlook on the seven deadly sins.

The Seven Deadly Sins, also known as the Cardinal Sins, are the most severe, immortal acts that poor, fallen man can commit. WRATH, GREED, SLOTH, PRIDE, LUST, ENVY, and GLUTTONY are the transgressions that almost certainly guarantee the eternal doom of a soul.

But, what if the idea was flipped? What if these seven acts were celebrated, rather than condemned? Instead of feeling shamed, our character flaws were shown with pride – raised above our heads like a Shiva trophy.

That’s the idea behind Big Grams, and each of the seven tracks – which include appearances from Run the Jewels and Skrillex – speak to the various contents of character that live within all of us.

01 “Run for Your Life” [SLOTH]
02 “Lights On” [PRIDE]
03 “Fell In The Sun” [ENVY]
04 “Put It On Her” [LUST]
05 “Goldmine Junkie” [GREED]
06 “Born To Shine” f. Run the Jewels [GLUTTONY]
07 “Drum Machine” f. Skrillex [WRATH]

[metaslider id=364947]

Head to iTunes to purchase Big Grams and, if you’d like to hear a preview, stream the EP via Spotify (below) or Apple Music.