Bring It Back: Killer Mike’s ‘Ghetto Extraordinary’ LP

blame it on Shake December 10, 2015

Well before Run the Jewels, Killer Mike was already a Monster in the game.

After “Snappin’ & Trappin'” his way through the industry’s front door in 2000 with Outkast, the ATLien took on the “Whole World,” before “Poppin’ Tags” and flippin’ rocks with JAY Z and Big Boi. The man was “Never Scared” to speak his mind and forever pledged allegiance to the grind.

In 2005, Mike was riding the success of his debut and was locked and loaded with the follow-up, Ghetto Extraordinary. Unfortunately, due to label drama (what else?), his sophomore album was instead unloaded and locked in purgatory. Three years later, following the introduction of his Grind Time Rap Gang (What up SL Jones CUZ?!) with 2006’s I Pledge Allegiance to the Grind, Mike said “f*ck it” and decided to release Ghetto Extraordinary on his own accord. Even better, he released the album as a free download—a rare move in 2008—which I actually had a hand in getting out to the masses during my days at HipHopDX.

On top of production from Organized Noize, Ron Browz, Three 6 Mafia, David Banner, and André 3000, the 14-track project included features from Big Boi, Ice Cube (!), Jagged Edge, SL Jones, and Scar.

01 Get Em Shawty f. Three 6 Mafia (prod. by Three Six Mafia)
02 Gorilla Pimpin (Ghetto Extraordinary) f. 8Ball & MJG (prod. by Mello)
03 Bad Day / Worst Day (prod. by Beat Bullies)
04 Mama Said (prod. by Organized Noize)
05 Gonna Go to Ghana (prod. by André 3000)
06 Niggaz Down South (prod. by Beat Bullies)
07 Shot Down (prod. by Organized Noize)
08 Chose Me f. SL Jones & Scar (prod. by Ron Browz)
09 My Chrome f. Big Boi (prod. by Mr. DJ of Dungeon Family)
10 Leave This Hood f. Jagged Edge
11 Aye-O (prod. by David Banner)
12 Speak Lord (prod. by Organized Noize)
13 Push Back f. M.O.P [Bonus]
14 Bad Day / Worst Day (Remix) f. Ice Cube [Bonus]

Whether you’re at the gym, out doing hoodrat things with your friends, or drafting the blueprint for the heist of the century, “Get Em Shawty” with Three 6 Mafia will have you PIPED UP! in no time.

In fact, the thunderous intro was actually what sparked this very post. After coming across the single version on Apple Music, I went to add the whole album and noticed it wasn’t available. Obviously none of the original links online worked either, so I decided to dig through an old hard-drive, re-up and get this bad boy back in rotation.

That’s enough talking, though. Do yourself a favor and stream/download Ghetto Extraordinary below.