Rick Rubin Announces Star Wars-Influenced LP; Drops Flying Lotus & Baauer Tracks

blame it on Patrick Glynn February 8, 2016

With Star Wars back at the forefront of pop culture, one of the men who has helped shape musical pop culture over the last 30 years is set to drop a compilation of songs influenced by the franchise.

Rick Rubin is preparing to drop Star Wars Headspace February 19, and it will feature original production featuring sounds, noises and influence from the first seven Star Wars movies. For example, one of the newly released singles from the project has Flying Lotus using sounds from R2D2 and the voice of C3PO asking the droid, “R2, Where are you?” Additionally, Baauer used noises from the cantina to create the electronic, explosive “Cantina Boys.”

In an interview with Zane Lowe on Beats 1 radio, Flying Lotus said whoever was working on the project was allowed to use whatever original sounds from the Star Wars franchise they wanted, they just couldn’t sample original composition from John Williams, who scored all seven Star Wars films thus far.

Check out the tracklist below, which features an original song from Rick Rubin, and stream the two new singles via Apple Music below.

01 Kaskade: “C-3P0’s Plight”
02 GTA: “Help Me!”
03 TroyBoi: “Force”
04 Baauer: “Cantina Boys”
05 Shag Kava: “Jabba Flow: Rick Rubin Re-Work” [ft. A-Trak]
06 Claude VonStroke: “R2 Knows” [ft. Barry Drift]
07 Rick Rubin: “NR-G7”
08 Bonobo: “Ghomrassen”
09 Röyksopp: “Bounty Hunters”
10 ATTLAS: “Sunset Over Manaan”
11 Flying Lotus: “R2 Where R U?”
12 Shlohmo: “Druid Caravan of Smoke”
13 Rustie: “EWOK PUMPP”
14 Galantis: “Scruffy-Looking Nerfherder”
15 Breakbot: “Star Tripper”

Flying Lotus – “R2 Where R U?”

Baauer – “Cantina Boys”

[S/o Pitchfork]