Nas Announces Posthumous J Dilla LP, ‘The Diary’; Drops “The Introduction”

blame it on Patrick Glynn February 18, 2016

Thursday afternoon, Nas took to Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 radio show to announce a new posthumous J Dilla LP, The Diary, set to be released in connection with the J Dilla estate by Mass Appeal Records. He also dropped the album’s first single, “The Introduction.”

Nas spoke with Zane Lowe before and after the premiere of the single. “I feel like he was still growing,” Nas said of J Dilla’s beats. He said he didn’t discover the man behind the work he appreciated until the news came out Dilla was ill.

Nevertheless, Nas, in a sense, still got to work with Dilla with this new album, which will come a little over 10 years after the producer’s passing. The Diary will feature work from Snoop Dogg, Bilal and more. There’s no release date for the album yet.

Stream “The Introduction” below.

UPDATE: The tracklisting for The Diary, with features from Boogieman, Nottz, Snoop, Kokane, Bilal, and others, can be peeped below. The Diary arrives on April 15th.

01 The Introduction (prod. HouseShoes, add. J Dilla)
02 The Anthem f. Frank & Dank (prod. J Dilla)
03 Fight Club f. Nottz & Boogie (prod. Wajeeed)
04 The Shining pt.1: Diamonds f. Kenny Wray (prod. Nottz)
05 The Shining pt.2: Ice (prod. Madlib)
06 Trucks (prod. J Dilla)
07 Gangsta Boogie f. Snoop Dogg & Kokane (prod. Hi-Tek)
08 Drive Me Wild (prod. Karriem Riggins, live music from Questlove, Lee Johnson, James Poser & Pino Palidino)
09 Give Them What They Want (prod. J Dilla)
10 The Creep (The O) (prod. Hi-Tek)
11 The Ex f. Bilal (prod. Pete Rock)
12 So Far (prod. Supa Dupa West)
13 Fuck The Police (prod. J Dilla)
14 The Diary (prod. BINK!)