OVO Sound’s dvsn Release Debut Album ‘Sept. 5th’ A Week Early!

blame it on JES7 March 26, 2016

Earlier today, OVO Sound’s latest acquisition dvsn debuted a new mix of music on episode 19 of OVO Sound Radio. After Oliver El-Khatib held down the first hour, the mysterious, new group closed out with a mix of contemporary 90s R&B—covering everything from R. Kelly and Beyoncé to The Isley Brothers and PARTYNEXTDOOR.

As the show came to a close, dvsn unveiled a reworked version of Aaliyah’s “One In a Million”—incorporating an interpolation of Prince’s “Purple Rain.” Although I’m usually quite leery of any Aaliyah covers, this works out pretty well.

Check it out below.

UPDATE: And just like that, dvsn’s debut album, Sept. 5th, is available NOW on Apple Music and all digital outlets.

01 “With Me”
02 “Too Deep”
03 “Try / Effortless”
04 “Do It Well”
05 “In + Out”
06 “Sept. 5th”
07 “Hallucinations”
08 “Another One”
09 “Angela”
10 “The Line”