Terrace Martin Paints ‘Velvet Portraits’ With His Beautiful New LP

blame it on Patrick Glynn March 31, 2016

Terrace Martin has consistently been one of my favorite producers from the West Coast over the past half-decade. Truly blossoming in recent years with his work behind the boards for some of the scene’s largest outputs like Kendrick Lamar (To Pimp A Butterfly, “Real”) and YG (“Really Be Smokin’,” “Twist My Fingaz“), Martin is no stranger to linking up with some of the West’s OGs —Snoop, Dre, Kurupt — over the years, as well.

Velvet Portraits isn’t his first go’round, either. Martin’s seasoned in the funk/soul collaborations, and some cuts from the new album are evidence: “Think Of You” with Kamasi Washington and Rose Gold, “Tribe Called West,” “Push” featuring Tone Trezure.

The album extends to 14 songs with a slew of uncredited features, including Washington, Keyon Harrold and, at least spiritually, Kendrick Lamar — “Curly Martin” is a continuation of the relaxing outro from K. Dot’s “The Blacker the Berry” and the album closes with a reworking of “Mortal Man.”

Take a listen below and head to iTunes for a download.

  1. “Velvet Portraits”
  2. Valdez Off Crenshaw
  3. “Push”
  4. “With You”
  5. “Curly Martin”
  6. “Never Enough”
  7. “Turkey Taco”
  8. “Patiently Waiting” f. Uncle Chucc & The Emotions
  9. “Tribe Called West”
  10. “Oakland”
  11. “Bromali”
  12. “Think Of You”
  13. “Reverse”
  14. “Mortal Man”