Aesop Rock Debuts His ‘The Impossible Kid’ LP With A Movie

blame it on Patrick Glynn April 25, 2016

Aesop Rock‘s The Impossible Kid is officially dropping on Friday. Over the course of the last couple months, the Rhymesayers rapper has opened up his personal life and feelings during the unique promotion of the album, which has added layers of vulnerability, sympathy and closeness to Aesop.

From having therapy sessions with animated bears to dissecting his relationships with his brothers (“Blood Sandwich“), the New York rapper/producer hasn’t shied from his uneasiness of aging in adulthood. And the way he unveils the stream four days in advance of its official release is just as enthralling.

This morning, Aesop Rock unleashed The Impossible Kid in a similar way Beyoncé did with hers over the weekend: in the form of a movie. Aesop’s, though, follows the story of a wooden figurine detailing his life growing up into the man he is today. You’ve gotta give The Impossible Kid a try after this string of promotion, right? I know damn well everyone on this site will.

  1. “Mystery Fish”
  2. “Rings”
  3. “Lotta Years”
  4. “Dorks”
  5. “Rabies”
  6. “Supercell”
  7. “Blood Sandwich”
  8. “Get Out of the Car”
  9. “Shrunk”
  10. “Kirby”
  11. “TUFF”
  12. “Lazy Eye”
  13. “Defender”
  14. “Water Tower”
  15. “Molecules”
  16. “Syrup” f. Homeboy Sandman & Open Mike Eagle [Bonus]
  17. “Dorks (Blockhead Remix)” [Bonus]

Watch the movie/Stream the album below, and pre-order the album on iTunes.