Maxwell To Return With ‘blackSUMMERS’night,’ Unveils Artwork & Tracklist

blame it on Meka May 26, 2016

Alongside Erykah Badu, Jill Scott, and D’Angelo among a host of others, Gerald Maxwell Rivera has been one of the more recognized and influential artists of R&B’s “neo-soul” genre. However, like D’Angelo and Erykah, he drops albums in between long gaps. Case in point: his 2009 album BLACKsummers’night arrived eight years after his third album Now. Now, his fifth album blackSUMMERS’night — the second part of his BSM trilogy — is scheduled to hit stores on July 1st, seven years after its predecessor.


Just in time for the warmer months of the year, the album is supported by its first single “Lake By The Ocean” which dropped in April. A 12-track effort, it does not appear that there will be any guest features on the album, which is a norm for Maxwell.

1. All The Ways Love Can Feel
2. The Fall
3. III
4. Lake By The Ocean
5. Fingers Crossed
6. Hostage
7. 1990x
8. Gods
9. Lost
10. Of All Kind
11. Listen Hear
12. Night

Enjoy “Lake By The Ocean” below. A video for the single is set to arrive Friday, May 27th.