Sadat X – “Freeze” (prod. Pete Rock)

blame it on Shake June 16, 2016


With over two decades in the game, Sadat X has seen and done it all—but that’s not stopping him from speaking his mind.

On July 15th, the Brand Nubian emcee will release his forthcoming concept album, Aqua. And today, he’s linked up with Pete Rock for the project’s lead single, “Freeze.”

“The theme of this album[which is] “water” is just actual facts,” Sadat X shared with AFH. “I’m talking about daily things that happen to the majority of the people, the masses. The majority of the people… they don’t live that life…. It’s good music, but a lot of people don’t get that life. This is for more of people that maybe have a regular job and raising kids and letting them know ‘Man, it’s nothing wrong with that,’… plus you know, just giving out good music.”

Check out the tracklist — which boasts features from R.A. the Rugged Man, Rhymefest, AFRO, Rahzel, Dres (of Black Sheep), and more — and the official lyric video for “Freeze” below.

01 “Freeze” (prod. Pete Rock)
02 “The City Never Sleeps” f. Wordsworth (prod. Dub Sonata & The Extraordinary Gentlemen)
03 “Taken” (produced by Will Tell)
04 “Industry’s Outcast” f. R.A. The Rugged Man & Thirstin Howl III (prod. Will Tell)
05 “Head Shot” (prod. Diamond D)
06 “Aqua” (prod. Will Tell)
07 “Cut & Dry” f. Lord Jamar (prod. Will Tell)
08 “Tell ‘Em Again” f. DV Alias Khrist (prod. Nick Wiz)
09 “The Return Of The Dottie” f. Milano & Shabaam Sahdeeq (prod. Ide for Creative Juices)
10 “Imagine” f. Rhymefest & Jabar (prod. Will Tell)
11 “The Bass Player” (prod. Da Beatminerz)
12 “Murder Soundtrack” f. A.F.R.O. & Rahzel (prod. Will Tell)
13 “Same Shit, Different Day” f. UG Cella Dwellaz (prod. UG)
14 “Da’ Hustle Don’t Stop” f. ED O.G. & Fokis (prod. Fokis)
15 “Maybe It’s Me” f. Dres (of Black Sheep) (prod. DJ Scratch)
16 “Tommy Is My Boy” (prod. Will Tell)
17 “We Strive” f. Dres (of Black Sheep) (prod. Easy Mo Bee)
18 “Nobody” f. LoVel (prod. Will Tell & Nick Wiz)

Pre-orders for Aqua are available on iTunes.