Danny Brown Reveals ‘Atrocity Exhibition’ Tracklist, Artwork & Release Date

blame it on Patrick Glynn August 16, 2016

Danny Brown returned a couple months ago when he shared “When It Rain” — the vigorous and uptempo affair that got the wheels turning on a new album.

That project, Atrocity Exhibition, we now know will arrive September 30.

Speaking with Rolling Stone, the Detroit rapper got into detail about the album and its influences. He talked about how he spent $70,000 to clear samples for the album and how Joy Division’s song “Atrocity Exhibition” laid the groundwork for Danny’s mindset for the project.

“I just relate to that song a lot. That song, [Ian Curtis is] pretty much talking about how he feels like he’s part of a freak show almost. People just wanna come see him and they just wanna see him be a certain type of way. I totally relate to that. That’s just how I felt with this album, ’cause a lot of people expect for me to be some crazy drugged-out I-don’t-know.

“At the end of the day, its just something that I really took my time with. I know this day and age, a lot of artists can’t really take time off to make music … they’ll get replaced. With me, [I’m] somebody that’s able to sit down and be able to take my time, ’cause aint nobody gonna be out here sounding like me, ain’t nobody gonna be out here doing what I do. I’m confident in this project to know that I’mma satisfy the people that’s already fans of my music. So, if you’re a fan of Danny Brown, you in for a treat.”

The tracklist for the album has 15 songs and features from Kendrick Lamar, B-Real, Ab-Soul and more.

1. “Downward Spiral”
2. “Tell Me What I Don’t Know”
3. “Rolling Stone” f. Petite Noir
4. “Really Doe” f. Kendrick Lamar, Ab-Soul & Earl Sweatshirt (prod. Black Milk)
5. “Lost”
6. “Ain’t It Funny”
7. “Goldust”
8. “White Lines”
9. “Pneumonia” (f. ScHoolboy Q?)
10. “Dance In The Water”
11. “From The Ground” f. Kelela
12. “When It Rain”
13. “Today”
14. “Get Hi” f. B-Real
15. “Hell For It”