La Coka Nostra Announce New Album; Share Statik Selektah-Produced Banger “Stay True”

blame it on JES7 September 17, 2016

It’s hard to believe it’s been four long years since La Coka Nostra released their last album, Master of the Dark Arts.

For those who may decide to revisit the album today, you may be caught off-guard at how fresh it still sounds, despite being recorded and released in 2012. Apart from dropping by with visuals for said album, the newest piece of music we got the New York-to-Boston Hip-Hop supergroup was last year’s single, “The Hard Way” which vaguely hinted at an upcoming album titled To Thine Own Self Be True.

Two days ago, LCN returned with a polished, heavy-hitting new banger produced by Statik Selektah: “Stay True,” along with more details plus the official tracklist for the new album.

Ill Bill revealed the following regarding the LP, due out on Nov. 4th via Fat Beats:

“Speaking for myself, it’s been a heavy last couple of years. It’s definitely the most personal record we’ve made under the La Coka banner and while we’re still making music that’s hard as fuck, there’s a maturity to this latest batch of songs that makes it different from a lot of the older stuff. I notice the biggest reactions come from the songs our listeners can personally relate to and we needed to make a record like this right now, not only for the fans, but for ourselves. I got alot off my chest on this one. Making music can be extremely therapeutic and making To Thine Own Self Be True was a rebirth and a re-ignition for me.”

Stream “Stay True” below and peep the tracklist after the jump.

  1. “Dark Day Road” (prod. J57)
  2. “I Need Help” f. Sick Jacken (prod. Leaf Dog)
  3. “Waging War” f. Rite Hook (prod. The Arcitype)
  4. “Murdered Tonight” (prod. DJ Lethal)
  5. “Stay True” (prod. Statik Selektah)
  6. “Blind” f. Q-Unique & Sadie Vada (prod. Marco Polo)
  7. “Crispy Innovators” f. Vinnie Paz (prod. Vherbal)
  8. “Archie Bunker” f. Nems (prod. DJ Lethal)
  9. “High Times” f. Sick Jacken (prod. Salam Wreck)
  10. “America” f. Apathy (prod. DJ Lethal)
  11. “Now Or Never” f. SKAM2? & Rite Hook (prod. DJ Lethal)
  12. “To Thine Own Self Be True” f. Rite Hook (prod. ChumZilla)