KiD CuDi Returns With ‘Passion, Pain & Demon Slayin’ LP

blame it on Patrick Glynn December 15, 2016

It’s at the point where you and I have to let KiD CuDi’s music do the talking. No more, “but GUYS, Man On The Moon!” or, “he should only work with Kanye from now on.” CuDi is on his own musical mission, and the only thing we have to do now is like it or don’t. But it’s at the point where CuDi doesn’t pay attention to the people that don’t and gravitates to those who do.

While, as Kanye admitted after his short-lived beef with CuDi, he’s one of the more influential artists over the last decade, his last couple of projects — namely Satellite Flight and Speedin’ Bullet To Heaven — have largely been viewed trending toward CuDi’s downfall rather than the peak of an artist who burst onto the scene with his highly creative and explorative A Kid Name CuDi and Man On The Moon series.

The latest chance we have to solidify or confound our opinion even more on CuDi comes in the form of Passion, Pain & Demon Slayin — his sixth studio album.

The album was supposed to drop in September, but just hours before the release, Cudi checked into rehab citing severe depression and suicidal tendencies. After a month in rehab, he returned with Pharrell and Travi$ Scott at ComplexCon and steered Passion, Pain & Demon Slayin back on track.

The album is packed with opportunity. At an hour and a half long, CuDi grabs two contributions from André 3000 and another two from Pharrell (one which he debuted at Trillectro), in addition to help from Travi$ Scott and Willow Smith, as the project extends 18 tracks — over four separate acts.

ACT 1: Tuned

01 “Frequency
02 “Swim In The Light”
03 “Releaser”
04 “By Design” f. André 3000
05 “All In

ACT 2: Prophecy

06 “ILLusions”
07 “Rose Golden” f. Willow Smith
08 “Baptized By Fire” f. Travis Scott
09 “Flight At First Sight/Advanced” f. Pharrell
10 “Does It”

ACT 3: Niveaux de l’Amour

11 “Dance 4 Eternity”
12 “Distant Fantasies”
13 “Wounds”
14 “Mature Nature”
15 “Kitchen”

ACT 4: It’s Bright And Heaven Is Warm

16 “Cosmic Warrior”
17 “The Guide” f. André 3000
18 “Surfin” f. Pharrell

Stream the album below, and cop it on iTunes.