J. Period Reveals Star-Studded Tracklist To ‘RISE UP!,’ With Black Thought, DJ Jazzy Jeff & More

blame it on Meka April 24, 2017

Veteran deejay J. Period is behind the massively successful Hamilton mixtape, which topped the Billboard 200 in its first week. He has now teamed with actor/activist Jesse Williams for another.

This mixtape — titled RISE UP! — will be inspired by and be the unofficial soundtrack for the EPIX documentary series America Divided. The soundtrack, which arrives May 2nd, will feature contributions from the likes of Aloe Blacc, Black Thought of The Roots, DJ Jazzy Jeff, Masego, Pharoahe Monch, and Posdnous of De La Soul among others, and is led by the singles “Miranda” and the title track.

Take a look at the tracklisting below.

  1.  “RISE UP!” f. Black Thought (The Roots), Posdnuos (De La Soul), Pharoahe Monch & Joss Stone
  2.  “Miranda (Rise Up)” f. Rhymefest, Xzibit & Jesse Williams
  3.  “Mr. Officer (J.PERIOD Edit)” f. Eric Roberson (prod. DJ Jazzy Jeff & Playlist Retreat)
  4.  “Listening (Edit)” f. Masego
  5.  “Hands Up, Don’t Shoot” f. Aloe Blacc
  6. “Rhythm is the Weapon (Interlude)” f. Mayda Del Valle
  7. “The Follower” f. Dayne Jordan & Aaron Camper
  8. “Say My Name [Live]” (Interlude) f. Maimouna Youssef
  9. “America Divided Theme (End Credit)”
  10. “Voice for the Voiceless (Outtro)” (prod. DJ Jazzy Jeff)
  11. “Things Deeper Than My Skin” f. Ozay Moore (MC Eq1)