Shabazz Palaces Announce Another New Album; Drop “30 Clip Extension”

blame it on Patrick Glynn May 9, 2017

Two weeks ago, Shabazz Palaces announced they’d return on July 14 with a new album, Quazarz: Born on a Gangster Star, along with the first single, “Shine A Light.” Now, with their return in full swing, the duo reveal they’re releasing another album on the same day as the first.

The album — Quazarz vs. The Jealous Machines — “finds our protagonist with his dazzling cohorts rising a collective Nah to the device and the guilds that proliferate them,” according to a press release. Quazarz, the main character, “discovers a world where humankind’s relationship with their tech-devices has become weirdly sensual, seducing a sedentary seamlessness with humans, while capturing and incarcerating the results of their imagination.”

The album is described as a “special extra twin” to Quazarz: Born On A Gangster Star. Essentially, it’s a double album. Like it’s twin, the newly announced album is 12 tracks, and this one will have features from Fly Guy Dai, Thaddillac, Morgan Henderson, The Shogun Shot and more.

  1. Welcome to Quazarz
  2. Gorgeous Sleeper Cell
  3. Self-MadeFollownaire
  4. Atlaantis
  5. Effeminence f. Fly Guy Dai of Chimurenga Renaissance
  6. Julian’s Dream (ode to a bad) f. The Shogun Shot
  7. 30 Clip Extension
  8. Love in the time of Kanye f. Purple Tape Nate
  9. Sabonim in the Saab on ‘em
  10. The SS Quintessence
  11. Late night phone calls f. Laz
  12. Quazarz on 23rd

Watch the lyric video for “30 Clip Extension” below, and pre-order the latest album on Sub Pop.