Chaz French Announces ‘True Colors’ Debut, Drops First Single “Pops”

blame it on Shake June 15, 2017

Ever since Chaz French made his DopeHouse debut in 2014 with “Came Down,” the D.C. native has been a favorite around these parts. And next month, he’s looking to touch a much larger audience with his official debut album.

After years of grinding non-stop, Chaz saw his efforts materialize in March when he entered a fresh joint deal between his ThreeSixEight imprint and Motown Records (the same label who scooped up Migos back in February). Now, Chaz is releasing True Colors next month.

With the announcement, French has also released the album’s first single, “Pops.”

“D.C. was one of the hardest hit areas in America by the crack epidemic of the late ’80s and early ’90s,” French told Complex about the inspiration behind the single. “Our communities are still feeling the effects to this day. Mass incarceration and the drug abuse that happened during this time left many households without their fathers. My household was one of these. I couldn’t really fully understand why my dad wasn’t around for extended periods growing up, but now I get and I forgive. I also appreciate my dad for doing his best that he knew how.”

Check out “Pops” below and pre-order True Colors — which features Curren$y, BJ the Chicago Kid, Casey Veggies, Shy Glizzy, Phil Adé and others — before it’s July 14 release.

  1. True Colors (Intro)
  2. Way Out
  3. Peace & Happiness
  4. Start It Up f. Casey Veggies
  5. Somehow
  6. So Are We f. Innanet James & Phil Ade
  7. Uncle Luke
  8. Situation
  9. Hol’ Up f. Shy Glizzy
  10. Let It Shine f. Kenny Burns
  11. Amerikkka f. Eddie Vanz
  12. Young World f. Kevin Ross & Tony Lewis Jr
  13. Pops f Marco McInnis
  14. Squad
  15. Invite Only f. Curren$y
  16. Off Top
  17. Thinnest Line f. BJ The Chicago Kid & Saba Abraha​Abraha