Vince Staples Presents The ‘Big Fish Theory’ On New Album With Kendrick Lamar, A$AP Rocky & More

blame it on Patrick Glynn June 22, 2017

This Vince Staples album is… different.

Big Fish Theory — the Long Beach rapper’s second full-length album — is full of grimy, electronic production. If project’s first single “BagBak,” wasn’t a clear indicator of where young Vince was headed with his next album, take a look at his last handful of features, like on JAHKOY’s “California Heaven” remix and, one of my favorite songs of the year, Gorillaz’s “Ascension.” There’s been a dark and ominous but gritty and bass-heavy energy surrounding Vince since Prima Donna and Summertime ’06, and it’s carried over to Big Fish Theory.

Vince purposefully didn’t list the features on the album on iTunes, Spotify and what have you, but over the 12 tracks, guests like Kendrick Lamar, A$AP Rocky, Juicy J (“Big Fish“), Ty Dolla $ign (“Rain Come Down“), Justin Vernon and Kilo Kish, who’s featured on tons of Staples’ projects so far, are on the album.

  1. Crabs In A Bucket f. Justin Vernon & Kilo Kish
  2. Big Fish f. Juicy J
  3. Alyssa Interlude
  4. Love Can Be…
  5. 745
  6. Ramona Park Is Yankee Stadium
  7. Yeah Right f. Kendrick Lamar & Kucka
  8. Homage f. Kilo Kish
  9. Samo f. A$AP Rocky
  10. Party People
  11. BagBak
  12. Rain Come Down f. Ty Dolla $ign

Stream Big Fish Theory below, and cop the album on iTunes.

UPDATE: Along with the album, Vince also shared a video for “Rain Come Down” with Ty Dolla $ign.