Young RJ Drops ‘Blaq Royalty’ Album

blame it on Shake October 10, 2017

Over the years, Detroit’s Slum Village has seen several lineup changes. In 2015, the long-standing group, now consisting of two members: T3 of the original trio and producer Young RJ, released YES! — which may or may not be the final SV album. Either way, the show must go on.

Years in the making, Young RJ has finally come through with his solo debut, Blaq Royalty.

“Creating my first solo project gives me a different sense of freedom, although my music is based on the Slum Village philosophy of sound, people will now get insight into one of the men behind the music,” RJ says.

Locked in at 12 tracks, let by “Issues” with BJ the Chicago Kid, “Motion” with Joyner Lucas, Statik Selektah and Earlly Mac (plus co-production from the late J Dilla), and “Wait” with Pete Rock and Boldy James, RJ also enlists Guilty Simpson, Drey Skonie, Supa Kaine, Daru Jones and J. Ivy to assist getting his message to the masses.

Press play below and be sure to add Blaq Royalty to your preferred streaming platform: Apple Music, Spotify, etc.