Skyzoo Unveils Cover, Tracklist for Fourth Album, ‘In Celebration of Us’

blame it on Shake January 1, 2018

In case you’ve been sleeping under a rock for the last 10 or so years, Skyzoo is one of the nicest emcees doing it.

After riding the wave of The Easy Truth into 2017, the Brooklyn rapper kept it rolling with his Peddler Themes EP this past July. And on February 2nd, he’s back in business with his fourth solo album, In Celebration of Us.

“Easily my most complex, most layered, and most important work to date, no debates,” Skyzoo said on Instagram. “No rap features, I got enough raps. These are stories that, like ‘The Salvation,’ I preferred to tell on my own. I’ve never been this meticulous about an album in my life. Conceptually, this is Ta-nehisi Coates meets Chappelle’s Show meets The Autobiography of Malcolm X meets Blackish meets the case of Sandra Bland meets the birth of Air Jordans. It’s intense. And it’s beautiful.”

On top of the announcement, Sky also shared the tentative tracklist of In Celebration of Us, which includes features from Raheem DeVaughn, Saba, Kay Cola, and Jake&Papa, over production from !llmind, Apollo Brown, Daringer, Marc Nfinit, Cardiak, Tuamie, Ave Prod, Seige Monstracity, and Arte Mitchell.

  1. Everybody’s Fine
  2. Sound Like…
  3. Baker’s Dozen f. Raheem DeVaughn
  4. Crown Holder
  5. Heirlooms & Accessories
  6. Forever In A Day
  7. Remembering The Rest f. WordsNCurves [Interlude]
  8. The Purpose f. Kay Cola
  9. Love is Love
  10. Black Sambo
  11. Parks & Recreation f. Saba
  12. Collateral f. Jake&Papa
  13. The Stick-Up Tape From “Menace”
  14. Hoodie SZN
  15. Honor Amongst Thieves

A post shared by Skyzoo (@skyzoothewriter) on