Chris Orrick – “Bottom Feeders” f. Fashawn (prod. Exile)

blame it on Shake February 28, 2018

No longer rocking his Red Pill alias (thanks to some bozos on the internet who took the same Matrix reference and dragged it through the mud with hate and ignorance), Detroit’s Chris Orrick is moving forward with his government name and will be releasing a new album called Portraits on May 4th.

“I tried to strip everything down to what I think simple, concise portraits of who I am,” Orrick told VIBE about the album. “Whether that be finding myself through self-portraits, portraits of everyday workers, portraits of the current political moment or portraits of myself told through the eyes of people I encounter daily.

“Portraits can often be overlooked, but there are so many details in the face that tell innumerable stories about what the person portrayed might have been feeling or going through. I’m trying to find those details, within myself and within America today.”

To kick things off, Orrick recruits Fashawn and Exile for the project’s first single, “Bottom Feeders.” Press play peep the tracklist for Portraits—which includes contributions from L’Orange, Apollo Brown, Nolan the Ninja, Verbal Kent, and others—below.

  1. “Self-Portrait” (prod. Nolan The Ninja)
  2. “Stories” (prod. Bruce Wain)
  3. “Design Flaw” (prod. L’Orange)
  4. “The Rubric” f. Verbal Kent (prod. Calvin Valentine)
  5. “Lazy Buddies” (prod. Apollo Brown)
  6. “Escape Plan” (prod. Samarei)
  7. “Anywhere Instead” (prod. L’Orange)
  8. “Bottom Feeders” f. Fashawn (prod. Exile)
  9. “Barfly” (prod. Onra)
  10. “Jealous of the Sun” (prod. Onra)
  11. “Mom” (prod. Nolan The Ninja)
  12. “What Happens Next?” (prod. Nolan The Ninja)