Phonte Returns With New Album, ‘No News Is Good News’

blame it on Meka March 1, 2018


Phonte Lyshod Coleman. Phontigallo. And, once upon a time, Percy Miracles. Whatever name he’s went by, Phonte is always going to give you great music no matter what. From his days with Little Brother to earning a GRAMMY nomination with The Foreign Exchange, the North Carolinian can do no wrong around these parts…

… except when it comes to dropping solo projects albums in a timely manner. Despite The Foreign Exchange releasing albums on a regular basis, Phonte has not released a solo album since 2011’s Charity Starts At Home.

In 2016, ‘Te revealed plans of releasing his sophomore album, No News Is Good News. But instead, he teamed up with Eric Roberson to release the (refreshingly dope and slept on) Tigallerro project.

Fortunately, Phonte has decided to break his silence and has come through with a surprise release of the long-awaited album—updating fans on what he’s been going through the last few years. “For Dad, Grandad, Uncle Mike, and Aunt Donna,” he says.

Surprising fans with a single tweet, the album arrives at 10 tracks with features from Freddie Gibbs and Eric Roberson.

  1. “To the Rescue”
  2. “So Help Me God”
  3. “Pastor Tigallo”
  4. “Expensive Genes”
  5. “Cry No More”
  6. “Such Is Life”
  7. “Change My Mind” f. Freddie Gibbs
  8. “Sweet You”
  9. “Find That Love Again” f. Eric Roberson
  10. “Euphorium (Back to the Light)”