Cut Chemist Returns with Sophomore Album, ‘Die Cut’

blame it on Shake March 2, 2018

With two and a half decades in the game, Cut Chemist has provided plenty of gems for the hip hop community. But when it comes to solo albums, he hasn’t released one since his debut, The Audience’s Listening, dropped in 2006.

All that changes today, as the veteran DJ/producer comes through with his long-awaited sophomore album, Die Cut.

Serving as an emotionally-restorative outlet as he processed the death of his father, Cut Chemist escaped the shadows of isolation and self-entrapment he encountered following a 30-day stint in jail after a DUI and a string of untimely loses, and immersed himself in the studio with a network of live musicians—including Deantoni Parks (The Mars Volta), Biz Markie, actress Erika Christensen (Parenthood), tune-yards, Farmer Dave Scher, and Dexter Story—resulting in a 17-track project with contributions from Chali2na, Mr. Lif, Edan, Myka 9, and more.

Check out the tracklist and press play below.

  1. “Metalstorm” f. Edan & Mr. Lif
  2. “Die Cut Intro (Interlude 1)”
  3. “Die Cut (Theme)” f. Deantoni Parks
  4. “Home Away From Here” f. Laura Darlington
  5. “Rhythm Method” f. Myka 9
  6. “Moonlightin with Biz” f. Biz Markie
  7. “Work My Mind” f. Chali2na & Hymnal
  8. “Prelude for a Madman” f. Dntel
  9. “Madman”
  10. “Energy (Interlude 2)”
  11. “You Want It, I Got It” f. Hymnal
  12. “I Gotta Weapon”
  13. “Plains”
  14. “Plane Jane” f. Hymnal & the Precious Hectic
  15. “The Lift pt.2 (The Dream Sequence)”
  16. “Home” f. Laura Darlington
  17. “Die Cut (Wrap)” f. Myka 9 & Deantoni Parks