Gorillaz Confirm ‘The Now Now’ Album, Release Two Singles

blame it on Shake May 31, 2018

The Gorillaz are releasing a new album this month.

Now that I have your attention, let’s get into some specifics. With Humanz still in rotation from its release last year, Damon Albarn’s digitized band will return with their sixth studio offering, The Now Now, on June 29th.

A much leaner effort than Humanz, the album will come equipped with 11 songs (compared to 26 on their last go round) and feature a dozen less guest appearances. While the likes of DRAM, Pusha T, Kali Uchis, and Anthony Hamilton helped before, only Snoop Dogg, house music pioneer Jamie Principle and legendary guitarist George Benson will contribute this time around.

To help celebrate the announcement, Damon and Co. have released a pair of singles. First, a video for “Humility,” which finds 2-D skating around Venice Beach with Jack Black, while Murdoc Ace (of Powerpuff Girls fame) ruins a game of basketball, Noodle plays chess and Russel… well, acts like an asshole.

“Humility” is followed a visualizer for “Lake Zurich.” Both of which can be seen below, along with the album’s tracklist.

  1. “Humility” f. George Benson
  2. “Tranz”
  3. “Hollywood” f. Snoop Dogg & Jamie Principle
  4. “Kansas”
  5. “Sorcererz”
  6. “Idaho”
  7. “Lake Zurich”
  8. “Magic City”
  9. “Fire Flies”
  10. “One Percent”
  11. “Souk Eye”