Nas Album Done, ‘NASIR’ is Here

blame it on Shake June 14, 2018

Photo: Ungano + Agriodimas

When Kanye Kanye said he was dropping an album with Nas last month, fans were instantly skeptical. They had every right to be, too. From a few broken promises to “Nas Album Done” talk that resulted in No Nas Album, they’ve have been dealt blow after blow while waiting to hear a new project from God’s Son.

It’s been six years since Life is Good was released. Sure, we got a few stellar guest verses on tracks with Dave East, but six years? That’s crazy. Regardless, the wait is over.

NASIR is here. Well, almost.

The fourth project in Kanye’s Scorpion sabotage late-May/June takeover—following Daytona, Ye and Kids See GhostsNASIR will finally be released this evening. And like the three prior projects, it extends seven tracks.

“Nas sounds like 2028 Nas,” Pusha T told Angie Martinez. “With Nas particularly, Ye is such a fan that he can pull all the greatest moments in seven songs, and update that energy. He knows how to harness that energy, update that energy beat-wise, and Nas just gets to be him.”

Photo: Mary Ellen Mark, for The War Zone.

  1. “Everything”
  2. “Bonjour”
  3. “Not For Radio”
  4. “Adam & Eve”
  5. “Simple Things”
  6. “Cops”
  7. “I Can Explain”

The album was premiered in Queensbridge and a live-stream was made available via the good folks at Mass Appeal. Now, some 50-11 hours later, NASIR is available on the major streaming platforms. Listen to it below.