Logic Continues ‘Young Sinatra’ Series with ‘YSIV’ Album

blame it on Shake September 28, 2018

After getting back in his Bobby Tarantino bag earlier this year, Logic is keeping the nostalgia running with the fourth installment of his Young Sinatra series, YSIV.

Locked in at 14 (curiously-titled) tracks—including “The Return,” “Everybody Dies” and “One Day” with Ryan Tedder—the album also features contributions from the entire Wu-Tang Clan (on a song called “Wu-Tang Forever” — oh, hey Drake), Wale, Jaden Smith, and more.

Check out the tracklist and press play below. YSIV is available now on your preferred streaming platform.

  1. “Thank You” f. Lucy Rose & The RattPack
  2. “Everybody Dies”
  3. “The Return”
  4. “The Glorious Five”
  5. “One Day” f. Ryan Tedder
  6. “Wu-Tang Forever” f. Ghostface Killah, Raekwon, RZA, Method Man, Inspectah Deck, Cappadonna, U-God, Masta Killa & GZA
  7. “100 Miles & Running” f. Wale & John Lindahl
  8. “Ordinary Day” f. Hailee Steinfeld
  9. “YSIV”
  10. “Street Dreams II”
  11. “The Adventures of Stoney Bob” f. Kajo, Slaydro & Big Lendo
  12. “Legacy”
  13. “ICONIC” f. Jaden Smith
  14. “Last Call”

On top of the album, Logic also sat down with Hard Knock TV for a length interview that touches on pretty much every topic you can think of.

In episode 1, Logic talks about the inspiration behind the first single from the album called “One Day,” which he calls quintessential Young Sinatra and what it was like writing with Ryan Tedder (One Republic) on it. Logic goes on to explain why he chose to address immigration in his music video and MTV performance and how having close friends that are Latino inspired him to use his platform to show the humanity behind the people immigrating to the US. Logic states why he doesn’t support Trump or Kanye for his statements supporting Trump and wearing the Maga hat but says that he is able to separate Kanye’s political views from his music, which Logic still admires. Before episode 1 ends, Logic calls out music publications for click-bate headlines, for taking him out of context, trying to start a beef with Wale and making fun of his race.

In episode 2, Logic breaks down his track “The Return”. Logic also talks about wanting to work with Jay-Z, sitting on multiple albums of unreleased music, wanting to troll the industry, how social media affects us, constantly needing to do something, being inspired by movies, conversations with Ernest Cline author of Ready Player One, and says that Michael Crichton’s book “Timeline” has inspired him to work on another novel.

In episode 3, Logic breaks down his track “Everybody Dies”. Logic also talks about Dave Chappelle, “Lil” rappers, meeting Lil Pump, current state of Hip Hop and how Childish Gambino and J. Cole were able to flip the current sound, while adding substance to the lyrics. Logic also breaks down whether he would want to know when his final day will be, if your final day is predetermined or not, and religion.