21 Savage Returns With Sophomore Album, ‘I Am > I Was’

blame it on Meka December 21, 2018

12 O’clock the world will never be the same again.

While that tweet from 21 Savage instantly reminded me of this well-timed follow-up, in all honesty the Atlanta rapper has perhaps the most anticipated drop of the night with his sophomore album I Am > I Was.

Since breaking out of Atlanta’s clogged rap scene with 2016’s Savage Mode, 21-21-21 has become of the city’s most exciting and consistent artists, notching a Gold plaque for his debut long-player ISSA and an inescapable single in “Bank Account.” Following his collaborative project with Offset and Metro Boomin, Without Warning, and multiple contributions on Metro’s Not All Heroes Wear Capes, the anticipation for I Am > I Was has peaked. Now, Savage comes through just before the holidays.

A 14-track effort, 21 calls upon the likes of J. Cole, Childish Gambino, ScHoolboy Q, Post Malone, Project PatOffset, Lil Baby and Gunna to assist him throughout. Meanwhile, Metro, Wheezy, Southside, DJ Dahi, TM88, Cardo and several others handle the production.

  1. A Lot f. J. Cole
  2. Break Da Law
  3. A&T
  4. Out for the Night
  5. Gun Smoke
  6. 1.5 f. Offset
  7. All My Friends f. Post Malone
  8. Can’t Leave Without It f. Lil Baby & Gunna
  9. ASMR
  10. Ball Without You
  11. Good Day f. ScHoolboy Q & Project Pat
  12. Pad Lock
  13. Monster f. Childish Gambino
  14. Letter 2 My Momma

Press play below and be sure to add I Am > I Was on your preferred streaming platform.