Joey Fatts Returns with ‘Chipper Jones Vol. 4’

blame it on Shake May 16, 2019

The return of the real.

It’s been a minute since we’ve heard from Joey Fatts, but the Long Beach rapper is officially back in action with the fourth installment of his ongoing Chipper Jones series.

Volume 4 arrives arrives nearly two years after his last project, I’ll Call You Tomorrow II, which was actually a collection of songs recorded prior to his March 2017 arrest that was released as a placeholder while he dealt with the 10-year sentence looming over his head. Thankfully, after spending the majority of that year sitting in a cell, he was released on a suspended sentence.

“When I was able to actually do music again, I just told myself, I wasn’t gonna take it light,” Fatts said in an interview with Passion of the Weiss last month. “And I really got a chip on my shoulder this time ‘cause these ni**as really suck—they trash. Even these LA ni**as. In terms of doing songs, they can’t f*ck with me. These ni**as can’t make better songs than me. These ni**as can probably rap better bar for bar. They probably got more money than me and all that sh*t, but when it comes to ni**as doing songs, these ni**as can’t f*ck with me.”

“I love my life I love my job. I love my daughter. I love my girl. I love my life. I love music. I love Yams. I’m just so happy everything fell into place. I couldn’t be happier,” he continued. “I was facing 10 years. Just to be here and have a second chance just feels so good. Life is beautiful. With my daughter. All this music stashed away. It’s dope. I’m in a good position. Capitalizing and letting people know what I’m really about. And everybody’s waiting for me to rap. Now, I can show and prove.”

Back like he never left, Joey Fatts comes through with a 10-track project with features from Vince Staples (of course), Dave East (on a follow-up to “U-Haul“), and JMSN.

Press play below and be sure to add Chipper Jones 4 on your preferred streaming platform.

  1. “Chipper Jones 4”
  2. “Checc In” f. Dave East
  3. “No Middle Man”
  4. “Guns & Butter”
  5. “Checc” f. Vince Staples
  6. “Imma Do Me”
  7. “Armageddon”
  8. “All Night”
  9. “Go With The Flow” f. JMSN
  10. “Love Me Now”