Rapsody Shares Tracklist + Artwork For Third Album, ‘EVE’

blame it on Meka August 9, 2019

On August 23rd, Rapsody will drop her third album — and, being honest here, one of the DopeHouse’s most anticipated projects of 2019 — in EVE. The follow-up to 2017’s GRAMMY-nominated Laila’s Wisdom, Rapsody stated about EVE, “I wanted to make an album and name every song after a black woman, because I’m an extension of every black woman.”

Hence, similar to Jamila WoodsLEGACY! LEGACY!, each song is named after a powerful, influential and legendary black woman, including:

  1. The longest-reigning female Egyptian Pharaoh Hatshepsut
  2. African-American abolitionist and freedom fighter Sojourner Truth
  3. Music legends Nina Simone and Aaliyah

… and many more. Meanwhile, the guest list is stacked: D’Angelo, GZA, J.I.D, Elle Varner, SiR, Mereba, Leikeli 47, J. Cole, PJ Morton and even Queen Latifah(!) make appearances throughout.

  1. NINA
  2. CLEO
  4. OPRAH f. Leikeli 47
  7. TYRA
  8. MAYA f. K Roosevelt
  9. IBTIHAJ f. D’Angelo & GZA
  10. MYRLIE f. Mereba
  11. Reyna’s Interlude
  12. MICHELLE f. Elle Varner
  13. IMAN f. SiR & J.I.D
  14. HATSHEPSUT f. Queen Latifah
  15. SOJOURNER f. J Cole
  16. AFENI f. PJ Morton

Yeah, this album needs to drop already.