Thundercat Announces New Album, ‘It Is What It Is’

blame it on Shake January 15, 2020

After transitioning from virtuoso bassist to bonafide star with 2017’s Drunk, Thundercat is back with a follow-up in the form of It Is What It Is.

Dropping April 3rd, the album “is about love, loss, life, and the ups and downs that come with it,” according to Thundercat. “It’s a bit tongue-in-cheek, but at different points in life you come across places that you don’t necessarily understand… some things just aren’t meant to be understood.”

To help kick off the campaign, the gifted musician has unveiled the project’s lead single, “Black Qualls” with The Internet’s Steve Lacy and funk icon Steve Arrington. The album version will also feature Childish Gambino.

Check out the tracklist – featuring contributions from Ty Dolla $ign, Lil B, Louis Cole, and Zack Fox – and press play on “Black Qualls” below.

  1. “Lost in Space / Great Scott / 22-26”
  2. “Interstellar Love”
  3. “I Love Louis Cole” f. Louis Cole
  4. “Black Qualls” f. Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington & Childish Gambino
  5. “Miguel’s Happy Dance”
  6. “How Sway”
  7. “Funny Thing”
  8. “Overseas” f. Zack Fox
  9. “Dragonball Durag”
  10. “How I Feel”
  11. “King of the Hill”
  12. “Unrequited Love”
  13. “Fair Chance” f. Ty Dolla $ign & Lil B
  14. “Existential Dread”
  15. “It Is What It Is”