Boldy James Signs To Griselda Records, Readies ‘The Versace Tape’ Project

blame it on Meka August 6, 2020

Well, the cat’s officially out of the bag.

After months of rumors, Griselda Records has revealed that Detroit spitter Boldy James has officially signed to the label. He will also make his formal debut with the The Versace Tape, slated to arrive August 14.

Executive produced by Westside Gunn, The Versace Tape will be a joint effort with social media personality-turned-rising producer Jay Versace (who contributed to Gunn’s Pray For Paris). “It means the world to finally meet some street cats and emcees who I rock with on a personal and a business level,” Boldy James said in a statement. “I’m cool, but I’m not a friendly person, so if there is not a mutual respect between me and other artists I keep my distance. I got a violent history with drugs and gun violence in my past life that I left behind, so it’s just good to know I got some real solid people in my corner to create and build with behind the scenes life and in my creative workspace. You can expect great music, dope visuals, high-quality features, priceless art, fashion and merch.”

“Boldy is the Slick Rick of today, very vivid storytelling for the street guy” Westside Gunn added.  “Imagine the prettiest china plate with coke residue stuck on it; that’s Boldy James.”

Check out the tracklist for The Versace Tape below.

  1. “Pony Down” (Intro)
  2. “Maria”
  3. “Nu Wave”
  4. “Cartier”f. El Camino
  5. “Brick Van Exel”
  6. “Long Live Julio”
  7. “Monte Cristo”
  8. “Cardinal Sin”
  9. “Bentayga”
  10. “Roxycontin” f. Westside Gunn, Keisha Plum & Tiona Deniece