Common Releases New Album, ‘A Beautiful Revolution, pt.1’

blame it on Shake October 30, 2020

Back in 2016, when Trump was first elected (*shudders*), Common stood up to voice his opinion on the matter with his Black America Again album. Three years later, he would return to Let Love guide the way. And now, following a year unlike anything we’ve ever seen, he’s back once again with the release of his 13th studio effort, A Beautiful Revolution, pt.1.

Released with hopes to “uplift, heal, and inspire listeners dealing with racial injustices as well as other social injustices” within AmeriKKKa, Common says, “A Beautiful Revolution, Pt. 1 is affirmation. It’s recognition. It’s elevation. It’s music to go with a movement. Because the truth is, there is still so much work to do. Regardless of the outcome of the election, we need to make sure things do not return to the status quo. The intention of the music is to channel all of our pain and outrage into something productive, inspirational, and good. It’s to help lead a movement into our next phase of the work to be done.”

Led by “Say Peace” with Black Thought, the project checks in at seven songs (bookended by an intro and outro) with contributions from PJ (vocals), Robert Glasper (keys), Karriem Riggins (drums), Burniss Travis (bass), Isaiah Sharkey (guitar), and Lenny Kravitz.

Press play below and add A Beautiful Revolution wherever you get music.