Jeezy Re-Ups with ‘The Recession 2’

blame it on Shake November 20, 2020

As the world continues to plummet, Jeezy is revisiting a classic.

Twelve years after dropping The Recession, Snow is back reflecting on our current times with the release of a proper sequel, The Recession 2.

“Four months ago, we were marching, looting, and having racial tension we never seen before,” Jeezy told the Ringer. “On top of that, we had a pandemic. I’ve never been through one of those before. Then we had some different leadership, as far as the whole presidential situation.”

“It was just a lot of different turmoil,” he continued. “It just really inspired me to touch on some of that, but at the same time, motivate my people and give them something to help them through these times and to celebrate, because the shift is happening. Things are happening, but not to forget about the moment, because it’s been surreal for even me. When I wrote the last Recession, we were celebrating. Barack Obama was coming into office. Things were different. It wasn’t this bad. So this is a different feel.”

Led by “Back” with Yo Gotti and “Therapy For My Soul” – where Jeezy let loose some thoughts about Freddie Gibbs, 50 Cent, Ross, and others – the album checks in at 15 tracks with features from Rick Ross, Ne-Yo, E-40, Lil Duval, Demi Lovato (…me neither), and Tamika Mallory.

  1. “Oh Lord” f. Tamika Mallory
  2. “Here We Go”
  3. “Modern Day”
  4. “Back” f. Yo Gotti
  5. “Da Ghetto” f. E-40
  6. “N****z”
  7. “Death Of Me”
  8. “Stimulus Check”
  9. “My Reputation” f. Demi Lovato & Lil Duval
  10. “The Glory” f. Ne-Yo
  11. “Live And Die”
  12. “Praying Right”
  13. “Therapy For My Soul”
  14. “Almighty Black Dollar” f. Rick Ross
  15. “The Kingdom”

Press play and be sure to add The Recession 2 wherever you get music.