Terrace Martin Taps Kendrick Lamar, Smino & More for ‘Drones’ Tracklist

blame it on Shake November 2, 2021

Terrace Martin has a new album dropping Friday.

After spending the last year and change rocking with his Dinner Party bandmates, the gifted Crenshaw musician is ready to release his next solo album, DRONES, on November 5th.

Inspired by a discussion with Kendrick Lamar about the growing desensitization and a general lack of compassion amongst society the week after To Pimp A Butterfly was released, Martin went on to speak with friends, neighbors and collaborators about the environment, technology, and the overall state of the world. The album was created in an effort to balance an unmasking and celebration of the lived Black American experience, in which he describes as “Black Disneyland.”

“There are touches of R&B, touches of jazz, touches of hip-hop, touches of classical, Cuban music, West African music, house music,” Martin shares about the album’s soundscape. “You’re going to hear all elements of Black music within this record. It’s not one element I can leave out if I call myself a true Black artist.” 

A 13-track release – executive produced by Martin, TDE’s Punch, and James Fauntleroy – the album will include contributions from Kendrick Lamar, Snoop Dogg, Smino, Arin Ray, Cordae, Ty Dolla $ign, Robert Glasper, Leon Bridges, YG, D Smoke, Hit-Boy, Channel Tres, and more.

Check the tracklist and press play on the first single, “Leave Us Be,” below.