Joell Ortiz Returns with New Album, ‘Autograph’

blame it on Shake November 12, 2021

Mr. Yaowa is back in business.

The last time we heard from Joell Ortiz, he was teaming up with KXNG Crooked to release their H.A.R.D. EP last year. But now, the Brooklyn emcee has officially returned with a new album called Autograph.

“My creative process is pretty simple. I write to the music that moves me and speak my truth,” Ortiz says. “That’s never wavered. Once I feel like I got all of my thoughts out, I put the pen down and listen to everything in its entirety. That’s usually where I figure out things like title and artwork. “After listening to this body of work, I realized that I shared a lot of personal feelings, stories and ideas. Everything is authentic. This is signature me. Hence, the title.  Autograph is an album from me to you. The old me, the current me, all of me.”

His first solo project since 2019’s Monday album, Autograph arrives with 13 tracks and contributions from the aforementioned KXNG Crooked, CyHi the PrynceHeatmakerzApollo BrownSalaam RemiSheek Louch, and a few others.

  1. In My Feelings” (prod. Heatmakerz)
  2. “Uncle Chris Car” (prod. Heatmakerz)
  3. “Housing Authority” ft. KXNG Crooked (prod. Hesami)
  4. “One Day” (prod. Apollo Brown)
  5. “Masked Up” (prod. Heatmakerz)
  6. “Sincerely Yours” (prod. Salaam Remi)
  7. “OG” (prod. Hesami)
  8. “Lifeline” ft. Juliet (prod. Heatmakerz)
  9. “Goin’ Thru It” ft. Marc Scibilia (prod. Heatmakerz)
  10. “Holy Ghost” ft. CyHi The Prynce (prod. Namir Blade)
  11. “Therapeutic” (prod. Apollo Brown)
  12. Love Is Love” ft. Sheek Louch (prod. Heatmakerz)
  13. “Doors Up” ft. Pastor LBS  (prod. Heatmakerz)

Press play and be sure to add Autograph wherever you get music.