‘DOPE’ Soundtrack To Feature Nas, Zoë Kravitz, A Tribe Called Quest & More

blame it on Meka June 4, 2015

One of the things I will do in the summer is catch director Rick Famuyiwa’s upcoming comedy/drama film, DOPE. The film stars an eclectic cast of characters: Shameik Moore, A$AP Rocky, Zoë Kravitz, Blake Anderson (Workaholics), former NBA player Rick Fox, Tyga, Vince Staples, Forest Whitaker and Chanel Iman among many others. What makes things even better: Pharrell has signed on to not only be an executive producer of the film, but he has also curated the film’s soundtrack and provided four original songs to both. The soundtrack, which is out on June 16th, will take listeners on a trip through hip hop culture and music in the 90s, with classics from Nas, Public Enemy, Digable Planets, A Tribe Called Quest, Gil Scott-Heron, Naughty By Nature, Digital Underground, and more, as well as new songs from Zoë’s band LOLAWOLF and Skateboard P’s own contributions as performed by the film’s band Awreeoh.

Peep the full tracklisting below.

1. Digable Planets – Rebirth Of Slick
2. Awreeoh – Can’t Bring Me Down
3. Nas – The World Is Yours
4. Awreeoh – Go Head
5. Public Enemy – Rebel Without A Pause
6. Awreeoh – Don’t Get Deleted
7. A Tribe Called Quest – Scenario f. Leaders Of The New School
8. Kap G – Cocaina Shawty
9. Watch The Duck – Poppin’ Off
10. Digital Underground – The Humpty Dance
11. Buddy – New Money
12. Naughty By Nature – Hip Hop Hooray
13. LOLAWOLF – Dirty Feeling
14. Gil Scott-Heron – Home Is Where The Hatred Is
15. Awreeoh – It’s My Turn Now

DOPE finally arrives in theaters on June 19th. Needless to say, I’ll be watching it on its opening weekend.