Kanye West’s ‘My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy’ Turns 5!

blame it on Shake November 22, 2015

Artwork by George Condo.

While we wait for what’s next, album number five in Kanye West’s impressive catalog hits the five-year mark today!

On November 22, 2010, Kanye released Good Ass Job My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy to the masses. Instantly receiving praise from critics, fans, and fellow artists, the LP received “Album of the Year” honors from numerous outlets—including Billboard, TIME, Pitchfork, and Rolling Stone. Greg Kot of the Chicago Tribute wrote it “turns contradictions into strengths, a mix of classical opulence, grimy beats, boldness and vulnerability,” while Andy Gill of The Independent called it “one of pop’s gaudiest, most grandiose efforts of recent years, a no-holds-barred musical extravaganza in which any notion of good taste is abandoned at the door”

The majority of the recording sessions went down in Hawaii, with Ye being joined by everyone from JAY Z and Dwele, to Elton John and Eminem. Q-Tip, Madlib, Pete Rock, RZA, DJ Premier, and others assisted with the production. Hell, looking at the complete list of contributors, I don’t think there was an artist on the planet that didn’t contribute something to the album.

Looking at the tracklist brings back some pretty fresh memories—including G.O.O.D. Fridays, which we need to return!

01 “Dark Fantasy”
02 “Gorgeous” f. KiD CuDi & Raekwon
03 “Power”
04 “All Of The Lights (Interlude)”
05 “All Of The Lights”
06 “Monster” f. JAY Z, Rick Ross & Nicki Minaj
07 “So Appalled” f. Swizz Beatz, JAY Z, Pusha T, CyHi The Prynce & RZA
08 “Devil In A New Dress” f. Rick Ross
09 “Runaway” f. Pusha T
10 “Hell Of A Life’
11 “Blame Game” f. John Legend
12 “Lost In The World” f. Bon Iver
13 “Who Will Survive In America”

“Runaway” f. Pusha T

“All Of The Lights”

“Dark Fantasy” Live w/ Teyana Taylor

“All Of The Lights” Live