ScHoolboy Q’s ‘Blank Face’ LP Has Arrived!

blame it on Meka July 7, 2016
blank-face-lp-red copy

Schoolboy Q has always been the yin to Kendrick Lamar’s yang. Kendrick raps from the perspective of a young man who was exposed to gang life throughout his formative years, yet never imbibed in or adopted those ways as his own; Q is the embodiment of that. There are bright moments throughout Lamar’s albums; Q’s projects revel in the murky darkness.

That gloaming has been reflected in all of Q’s studio releases so far — from Setbacks all the way to his 2014 major label debut Oxymoron. The complete opposite of K. Dot’s cautious, stressed-out yet hopeful jazz and funk-painted sonics, Groovy Tony‘s raps are wrapped in sinister bass, bleak synths and an overall morose sense of paranoia greater than any line Scarface spat on “Mind Playing Tricks on Me.”

Following a two-year hiatus, ScHoolboy Q has returned with one of the more anticipated hip hop releases of the summer, Blank Face LP.

RELATED: ScHoolboy Q – “THat Part (Black Hippy Remix)”

A dense, 17-track affair, the album is fronted by “Tookie Knows II,” “By Any Means,” and the Kanye West-featured “THat Part.” As well as West, the album also boasts contributions from Jadakiss, Tha Dogg Pound, Vince Staples, SZA, Anderson .Paak, Miguel and others, with production from DJ Dahi, Metro Boomin, Alchemist and Swizz Beatz, as well as TDE in-house beatsmiths Sounwave, Willie B and Tae Beast.

Summer ’16 just got a bit hotter.

01. TorcH (prod. Nez & Rio, Sounwave + Russell)
02. Lord Have Mercy (prod. Swizz Beatz)
03. THat Part f. Kanye West (prod. Kanye, Cardo, Yung Exclusive + CuBeatz)
04. Groovy Tony/Eddie Kane f. Jadakiss (prod. Tae Beast + Dem Jointz)
05. Kno Ya Wrong f. Lance Skiiwalker (prod. Alchemist + J. LBS)
06. Ride Out f. Vince Staples (prod. Sounwave)
07. WHatever U Want f. Candice Pillay (prod. Tae Beast)
08. By Any Means (prod. Cardo + Yung Exclusive)
09. Dope Dealer f. E-40 (prod. Metro Boomin + Southside)
10. JoHn Muir (prod. Sounwave + Adrian Younge)
11. Big Body f. Tha Dogg Pound (prod. Tyler the Creator)
12. Neva CHance f. SZA (prod. DJ Dahi + 1500 Or Nothin)
13. Str8 Ballin (prod. Nez & Rio)
14. Black THoughts (prod. Willie B)
15. Blank Face f. Anderson .Paak (prod. Sounwave + Russell)
16. Overtime f. Miguel & Justine Skye (prod. Cardo + Yung Exclusive)
17. Tookie Knows II f. Traffic & TF (prod. Nez & Rio)

Stream via Apple Music below and pick up Blank Face LP on iTunes.

In Los Angeles? TDE is holding a special 24-hour installation of Q’s Blank Face LP short film. Peep the details below.